Innovative Digital Terrestrial Multimedia Broadcasting System


ITU is the leading Institute of the United Nations for information and communication technologies and the global coordination center for the development of networks and services for governments and the private sector. Founded in 1865, the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) became a specialized institute of the United Nations in 1947 and provides a platform for cooperation for more than 193 Member States and more than 700 members of Sectors and Associate members that are sectoral, international and regional organizations, as well as more than 100 academic organizations, in order to improve and manage telecommunications and radio communications worldwide.

ITU fulfils its fundamental mission in three Sectors: the radio Sector (ITU-R), the telecommunication standardization Sector (ITU-T) and the telecommunication development Sector (ITU-D).

ITU's work in the field of radio communications is concentrated in the Sector ITU-R, which seeks a world agreement on the use of space and terrestrial radio communication services, and a wide and growing range of services and applications in wireless communications, including the demand for new mobile communication technologies.

The Radio communication Assembly (AR) establishes ITU-R Study commissions and entrusts them with research issues in order to prepare draft recommendations, etc., to be submitted to ITU Member States for approval.

On October 15-26, 2018 in Geneva (Switzerland) meetings of the 6th Research Commission (Broadcasting services) of the radio Sector of the International telecommunication Union (ITU-R) and its Working groups 6A, 6B, 6S were held. The meetings were attended by a delegation of the communications Administration of the Russian Federation.

The Russian delegation included representatives of FSUE RRI, FSUE "RTRS" and Director of physical and technical school of radio Engineering and computer technologies, head of the laboratory of MIPT Dvorkovich A.V., doctor of technical sciences, corresponding member of Russian Academy of Sciences.